Capital Project

The I in Independence: The iPhone in Daily Use

Posted on

There are many reasons that people have begun using iPhones including their design, easy to use interface, or accessibility. I will be discussing the latter reason and how the accessibility within iPhones can be beneficial in your everyday life. Starting off with the very basic element of VoiceOver, which I am sure we can all […]

Capital Project

Kitchen Tips and Tricks: Separating Eggs

Posted on

As a single mother I prepared home cooked meals daily for my children. As I began to lose my vision, I experienced some new challenges in the kitchen. Over the years I have had some assistance marking my kitchen appliances and training in regards to independent living skills as a person who is blind. To […]

Capital Project

Vision Aware

Posted on

Sometimes when one comes across someone who is blind, partially sighted, or Deafblind, it may be their first time interacting with them. Even if it is not their first time, often one may feel intimidated or worried about the correct or incorrect things they could do when in a particular situation. Not to fear, as […]

Capital Project

A Salute to Summer: A Virtual Talent Show Featuring Blind, Deafblind, and Partially Sighted Performers ๐ŸŽ™๐ŸŽต๐Ÿ•บ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿฅ‹๐Ÿ™‡๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธ

Posted on

Save the date! Saturday June 5, 2021 – 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM Pacific Time – 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM Mountain Time – 3:00 PM – 5:00 PM Central Time – 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM Eastern Time – 5:00 PM – 7:00 PM Atlantic Time – 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM Newfoundland Time […]

Capital Project

Making It Up

Posted on

As someone who is completely blind, I have been asked many times about how I organize both my clothing and makeup. I had to come up with some effective ways of doing this while growing up, so that I could be as independent as possible. I will share just some of the tips and tricks […]

Capital Project

Food For Thought

Posted on

Cooking is a vital task that one needs to do almost every day in some shape or form in order to ensure that they are meeting their body’s needs. However, most often when people have a disability such as blindness, they are discouraged from this practice. This could be due to the fear of the […]